November 9 2023  |  Associations

APTRA board welcomes Luke Maga at Loch Lomond Group

By Hibah Noor

Luke Maga, Managing Director GTR & Africa, Middle East & Indian subcontinent, Loch Lomond Group and APTRA board member

APTRA is pleased to announce the outcome of its recent board election to fill the vacancy created by the takeover of Distell by CVH, which decided not to continue the position.

In a tightly contested electronic poll, conducted between November 3 – 8, Loch Lomond Group (Loch Lomond) was selected by APTRA members and received the majority vote with 42% share.

Loch Lomond will be represented by Luke Maga, Managing Director GTR & Africa, Middle East & Indian subcontinent. The appointment will take effect immediately for the remainder of the current term until May 2025.

Sunil Tuli, President of APTRA and CEO King Power Group (Hong Kong) says, “We are delighted to welcome Loch Lomond Group to the APTRA board and of course the return of Luke. Luke’s track record in travel retail is widely respected, he has been a passionate advocate of APTRA and the service we provide to our members, where he also led the APTRA Alcohol Working Group. With his deep experience of building brands and commercial success in new markets across Asia Pacific and beyond, he brings valuable insight to APTRA and our members. I would also like to thank the other nominees who ran for election.”

Luke Maga, Managing Director GTR & Africa, Middle East & Indian subcontinent adds, “I’m thrilled to be returning to the APTRA board and to support the important work of the association. In my two previous terms, I saw first-hand the impact that being a board member brings in supporting APTRA’s mission to deliver growth for the industry, to support and engage for the best interests of all businesses and categories across this dynamic region. My role at Loch Lomond Group includes domestic responsibility across the Indian sub-continent and this enables me to bring valuable local market insights, both commercially and from a regulatory perspective. I will also be able to play a facilitating role through my position on the Global Spirits Task Force to ensure APTRA receives appropriate share of voice and support from this group of industry executives.”

The APTRA board election was open to all APTRA member companies during the week in November. Each company was eligible to cast one single vote for one of the four nominees via, a secure online election platform designed to simplify the process of administering elections for organizations. From a compliance perspective, the process ensured voter anonymity with only the number of votes being visible to the APTRA executive team.

Prior to that, APTRA member organizations were invited to nominate themselves for the vacancy with a nominated representative from their executive team. See a list of the four nominees below:

Avolta – Pedro Castro

Enviropoint – Graeme Stewart

Estée Lauder – Karen Hausman

Loch Lomond – Luke Maga

Until the next scheduled election in May 2025, the APTRA board consists of:

King Power Group (Hong Kong) – Sunil Tuli (President)

Lindt –Susana Hueso (Treasurer)

Lacoste – Erin Lillis (Secretary)

Delhi Duty Free – Nuno Amaral

Auckland International Airport – Lucy Thomas

Australian Duty Free Association – Steve Timms

Chanel – Hervé Ducros

Changi Airport – Chandra Mahtani

Delhi Duty Free – Nuno Amaral

Loch Lomond Group – Luke Maga

JTI – Har Ying Pan

Pernod Ricard – Simon Van Moppes

TFWA -– Erik Juul-Mortensen


Brand News

December 4 2023

Jägermeister launches new limited-edition…

​Mast-Jägermeister SE – the family-owned company and maker of the popular herbal liqueur – is launching a new global travel…

December 4 2023

TR exclusive Johnnie Walker Blue…

The new blend is now a permanent part of the iconic Johnnie Walker line-up for the channel; the launch event welcomed media…

December 4 2023

Woodford Reserve offers sensorial…

​Woodford Reserve is creating a sensorial experience at Istanbul International Airport to bring the flavors of its American…

December 4 2023

Pilgrim partners with ARI to create…

The Danish jewelry brand's sunglasses' sculpture draws attention to its extensive range at the airport

December 4 2023

A deep dive into nature positivity…

GTR Magazine sits down with Mona L’Hostis at the company to learn more about its B Corp status,…

November 30 2023

Lacoste opens duty free boutique…

LACOSTE is pleased to announce the opening of a duty-free boutique in Terminal 4 of Singapore Changi Airport, in LE CLUB…

November 29 2023

Veuve Clicquot celebrates 250 years…

Moët Hennessy Travel Retail and Extime Duty Free Paris are currently hosting a captivating Veuve Clicquot pop-up at Paris…

November 28 2023

Lancôme and The Louvre bring unique…

​In partnership with Lagardère Travel Retail, Lancôme Travel Retail, a subsidiary of the L'Oréal Group, proudly announces…

November 28 2023

NUXE launches Sweet Lemon range,…

Renowned beauty brand NUXE has unveiled its latest organic skincare line – the Sweet Lemon range. This innovative collection,…

Copyright 2023 DutyFree Magazine. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy Sitemap