DFWC elects Sarah Branquinho as new President



Branquinho previously served on the board of the DFWC in her former role as President of ETRC

Following its AGM, Duty Free World Council (DFWC) announced the election of Sarah Branquinho, to the role of President of the Council for a two-year term. It was a unanimous decision.

Branquinho, External Affairs Advisor at Dufry International AG, had previously served on the board of the DFWC in her former role as President of ETRC. She is well known within the industry as a figure with long duty free and travel retail experience and a history of active contribution to various industry bodies in addition to her corporate responsibilities.

Branquinho commented: "I am honoured to have been entrusted with taking the Duty Free World Council forward over the next two years. Under Frank O'Connell's superb leadership, the DFWC has become a vocal and effective advocate for our industry in the face of many challenges to the way we operate.

I look forward to working with the regional associations and TFWA to protect and promote the duty free and travel retail channel and the contribution it makes to the travel and tourism ecosystem."

The DFWC board welcomed Branquinho to the role and expressed its satisfaction at having such a capable individual take over the leadership of the Council considering the important part it plays in promoting the interests of the industry. The board recorded its appreciation of outgoing DFWC President Frank O'Connell, who has served since its founding six years ago and enabled it to interact with relevant global organizations, protecting and supporting the interests of all industry stakeholders.

O'Connell added: "I am very pleased to hand on the responsibility for the future development of the Council to Sarah, who I have worked closely with for many years and who I know will lead the Council to the next level."

The new DFWC board is Sarah Branquinho, President, Grant Fleming, President APTRA, Gustavo Fagundes, President ASUTIL, Nigel Keal, President ETRC, Abe Taqtaq, President FDFA, René Riedi, President IAADFS, Haitham Al-Majali, President MEADFA and Alain Maingreaud, President TFWA.