MEADFA announces Board and Officers for 2023-2025 term



MEADFA's Annual General Meeting was held this week in Dubai

Following its Annual General Meeting, held this week in Dubai, Middle East & Africa Duty Free Association (MEADFA) has appointed its new Board and Officers.

According to the association, the group will be responsible for guiding its strategic direction and furthering its mission to promote the growth and development of the travel retail industry.

The newly elected members will serve a two-year term until 2025.

Officers elected to the MEADFA Board:

President Sherif Toulan, CEO at International Duty Free & Trading Agencies

Vice President Rob Marriott, CEO at ARI Middle East

Secretary General Karl Raphael, CEO & Chairman at Aphrodite Sarl

Treasurer Dr. Bernard Creed, Senior Vice President Finance at Dubai Duty Free

Other elected members of the Board include Isaias Diaz Garcia, General Manager at Dufry Group, Tarek Hamila, Owner at Hamila Duty Free, Roger Jackson, Managing Director at Organico Solutions, Erik Juul-Mortensen, President at TFWA, Mazen Kaddoura, Airports Channel Development Head at Mars Wrigley Travel Retail, Milika Kalyati, Corporate Affairs & Communications Manager at JT International SA, Haitham Al Majali, CEO at Jordan Duty Free, Dr. Munif Mohamed, CEO at Lagardère TR, Alexandre Tabacoff, General Manger Middle East, India and Subcontinent at Dufry Group, Bernard Schlafstein, Sales Director Middle East & Africa at Gebr. Heinemann.

"I am honored to have been re-elected as President for the new term and would like to express my gratitude to our MEADFA members for their continued trust and support. Our Board includes a talented and diverse group of professionals, whose collective expertise and dedication to the travel retail industry will be instrumental to the association's growth and development over the coming years. Together with our members, we will defend and promote the industry in the region, advance its growth, and continuously raise awareness of its contribution to the global economy.

"I would also like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude to Ms. Isabel Zarza, Mr. Nicolas Van Brandt, and Mr. Philip Haine who have served on the Board for many years. Their invaluable service and dedication have been instrumental in advancing the Association's mission. We are truly grateful for their hard work, leadership, and commitment," said Toulan.

"I am honored to work alongside the MEADFA Board and Officers to represent and defend the interests of the travel retail industry. I am fully committed to ensuring that our advocacy efforts are effective and impactful, promoting the progress, innovation, and growth that empowers the industry to achieve its full potential," added Marriott.

Following are the new members of the four committees formed to support the work of the MEADFA Board:

- 1. Advocacy Committee: Rob Marriott (Chair), Isaias Diaz Garcia, Roger Jackson (Liquor Taskforce Chair), Mazen Kaddoura (Confectionery Taskforce Chair), Travel Retail, Milika Kalyati (Tobacco Taskforce Chair)
- 2. Membership Committee: Roger Jackson (Chair), Bernard Creed, Karl Raphael, Alexandre Tabacoff
- 3. Sustainability Committee: Dr. Munif Mohammed (Chair), Bernard Creed, Renzo Radice, Bernard Schlafstein, Olympia Pineda
- 4. Awards Committee: Dr. Bernard Creed (Chair), Sherif Toulan, Rob Marriott, Isaias Diaz Garcia